Year In Review

Year In Review

Β·

6 min read

Hello guys, I'm very sorry I have abandoned my blog for quite a while now, but in 2021, I'd be writing more articles (it so good to be back 😊). The year 2020 I must say is indeed one in which many or even I would never forget in a hurry.

2020 for me already started for me from December 2019, Because I had mapped out a lot of small plans in my head, which was to get an internship to build upon what I had learned over the 8 months in 2019, It wasn't easy cos I didn't even know how to apply and I felt who would even hire me. One afternoon I got a message from a friend (God bless her for me πŸ’›). She reached out to me and asked if I'd like to join their company as an intern, in my mind had a conflict cos the syndrome was about raising its ugly head making me feel I cant do better, but I said you know what, we die here. I'd go for the interview and whatever comes out I'd take it as my fate 😜.

Fast forward to after the interview, it went well. I was told I'd be learning Vuejs and I was like wow, now I knew I had a responsibility, cos I didn't want to disappoint anyone in my probation period, I had to learn all I could even though I was still confused, but thanks to this my friend who always encouraged at work😁. I still didn't get over that stupid syndrome when I was giving a full UI to build, but again I always had to prove to myself that I can do it, it came out well just like what was on the design itself. My senior dev was happy I was able to achieve it, and that made him count on me that I could deliver well.

Still, currently at the company, I have been engaged in different projects, which I'd say has built a level of confidence in me on how to tackle issues and meeting crazy deadlines. Thanks to the guys who still helped out when I still found stuff a bit tricky.

Currently landed another full-time jobπŸŽ‰ with some amazing guys, and thanks to the place where it all started, all the grooming, tasking issues and all moulded me into displaying such skills in my new job. I remember when we had a demo, all hands were on deck for complete 48hrs, Thanks be to God we wonπŸ˜‰ at the event we participated at. Then I felt like a small win for me really made sense.

Now I might be goofy a bit LOL, next year which is tomorrow, I have made plans on how to be better and also level up my skillset and earn that armed robber salary I have always craved for🀣, my guys for sure understand this.

Learning a skill in one year and getting two full-time jobs was a major win for me πŸ˜‰.

So now my moment of appreciation:

  1. Javascripters group: a lot of talented devs are on that group, thanks for always helping out in the issues I encountered along my way.

  2. Faith Egwuenu 😊: her profound character is one which I am still yet to see in another, thanks for all the heads-up and encouragement, it really meant a lot.

  3. Dillion Megida : always made me see appreciation in small wins, very dedicated developer I must say.

  4. Tolulope: A vast guy in the tech field, very quiet dev but knows his gameplay well, he pushes me beyond my limit.

  5. Abbey: My senior dev😁, always wanted me to deliver 99% good work, he's very versatile I must say.

  6. Riccardo: My Italian friend, who's also a mentor to me, he gave me the exposure I needed πŸ˜‡.

  7. Tayo: always got my back, answered all my questions that sounded foolish lmao.

  8. Vincent and Edmund: Advocated for vuejs lol thanks for the help guys.

And to the remaining people, I didn't mention, thanks for always being there 😁

So I guess next year I'd be back to write a better year in review, Just woke up an hour ago and wrote this lmao.